The AT&T Messages Backup & Sync service backs up your text and picture messages in the AT&T cloud for up to 90 days. Messages stored in the cloud can be downloaded to smartphones that support AT&T Messages Backup & Sync. Because your messages are in the cloud, you can send and receive texts from a tablet, wearable, computer, and eligible apps using your mobile number.
Look for the AT&T Messages app on your Android tablet or search for it in the Google Play store.
Check out messages.att.net on your computer or tablet.
Learn more about the apps that use AT&T Messages Backup & Sync:
AT&T Messages Backup & Sync is a service integrated into your smartphone messaging app that backs up your text and picture messages in the AT&T cloud and syncs them to your phone. Also:
The first time you use the Messaging app on your smartphone, you’ll be given an opportunity to opt in to use the service. You can also opt in at any time from the Messaging app by going to Settings > AT&T Messages Backup & Sync. Once the service is running, you don’t need to do anything else. Your messages will be backed up in the AT&T cloud and will remain in sync with your smartphone.
*Available via update. Check Settings then Software Update.
If you have the AT&T Messages service, but haven’t been using it, messages stored in our cloud will appear unread when they’re downloaded to your phone. After you read these messages on your phone, they’ll be in sync with the cloud.
If you have the AT&T Messages service, but haven’t been using it, messages deleted from your phone have not been deleted from the cloud. The first time Backup & Sync syncs with the cloud, you may see previously deleted messages appear in your inbox. Going forward, any message you delete from your phone will be deleted from the cloud.
Under certain rare conditions when a message is downloaded from the AT&T cloud to a smartphone that supports AMBS, a file attached to the message cannot be opened. If you are experiencing this condition, try these steps to open the file.
From a computer:
Edit the last 3 letters of the file name “emailtext.txt” to one of the following:
Save the change to the file name and then attempt to open. If the file does not open, try another option.
AT&T Messages Backup & Sync currently stores the last 90 days of messages in the AT&T cloud. Under certain rare conditions a message that resides in the AT&T cloud may not be downloaded to an AMBS smartphone. You can login to messages.att.net and look for the missing message. If found, forward it to your mobile number to get that message on your smartphone.
If the message is not found or is older than 90 days, you can use the AT&T Mobile Transfer app to move messages from your previous phone to your current phone. Note, this could cause message duplication in the messaging app.
If the messaging app on your smartphone states that messages will be stored for up to 90 days, that means that messages older than 90 days will be removed from the cloud backup but will remain on your smartphone. See terms for additional detail.
You can access your messages—and send or receive messages using your mobile number—two different ways:
If you have a special message that you’d like to save, just forward it to your email address from the messaging app on your smartphone.
Backup & Sync is only available on supported smartphones. However, using the AT&T Messages Android App or messages.att.net on your tablet or computer will back up your text and picture messages in the AT&T cloud.
Yes. As a user of the AT&T Messages Android App, your text and picture messages are already backed up in the AT&T cloud. When you opt in to use AT&T Messages Backup & Sync, your messages in the AT&T cloud will be downloaded to your new phone. You can access your messages stored in the AT&T cloud at messages.att.net.
The AT&T Messages app cannot be used on a smartphone that includes AT&T Messages Backup & Sync.
There is no monthly recurring charge to use AT&T Messages Backup & Sync.
Your messaging plan rates apply for all sent and received messages whether you use the service or not. There is no additional per-message charge for message backup.
For customers that opt into the service, all sent or received messages are automatically copied to the AT&T cloud for no additional fee.
Data charges may apply for the synchronization of your messages to the AT&T cloud including:
Message sync that occurs over a Wi-Fi network will not incur data charges.
Yes, message and data plan rates apply. Additional information about international roaming is available at att.com/global.
Here are reasons you may have received a message saying you’re not eligible to use AT&T Messages Backup & Sync:
You can contact Customer Care by calling 611 from your mobile phone if you have questions about service eligibility.
Yes you can. It is recommended that you use Mobile Transfer before you opt in to use Backup & Sync to avoid message duplication.
If you no longer want your messages stored in the AT&T cloud, you’ll need to remove the service from your account. Removing AT&T Messages Backup & Sync will delete your text and picture messages stored in our cloud. These messages will still be available on your phone, but they won’t be available on your computer, tablet, or any app that accesses your messages stored in the cloud.
To remove the service, choose one of the following:
Note: Backup & Sync integrates into the messaging app of select smartphones and cannot be uninstalled. If you do not opt in or you removed the service, it will not use any data and will be idle until you activate it.
From your supported smartphone, open the Messaging app and tap Menu > Settings > AT&T Messages Backup & Sync > Terms.
Or you can find the terms at att.com/ambsterms.
AT&T Messages Backup & Sync: Your text and picture messages are copied and stored in your cloud inbox so that they can be downloaded to a supported smartphone, and are available on your tablet, wearable, and computer. If you no longer want your messages copied to your cloud inbox, visit the AT&T Messages Backup & Sync FAQ for details on how to remove the service. Compatible device required. Standard messaging and data rates apply.
As a security measure, your session will end in 5 minutes.If you need more time, select Continue to extend your session
As a security measure, your session ends after 30 minutes of inactivity.
As a security measure, your session will end in 5 minutes. Tap Continue to extend your session. Or, tap Save cart to return at a later time.
We're sorry, we were unable to add this item to your order. Please try adding the item again. If the problem persists, please call 888.333.6651.
Looks like one or more items in your cart are out of stock for shipping. We can still ship your order, but first we'll need to remove the following item(s):